Book Round-Ups

Stand-Out Books of 2012

Well, it’s a new year, which means two things.  First:  A round-up of stand-out books I read last year.

I’ve decided on my top five favorites, plus a few “honorable mentions” that were good but didn’t make Top Favorites.  All links go to my review. (Since I started this blog mid-year, I don’t have reviews for every book.  Books marked with an asterisk [*] are ones without reviews.)

My Top Five Favorites of 2012:

  1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  2. Virals by Kathy Reichs
  3. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld* (Update: I reread and reviewed Leviathan after nine years – the 2021 review is here)
  4. Prophet by R.J. Larson*
  5. Gunner’s Run by Rick Barry*

Honorable Mentions:

These are books that made an impression, but didn’t make my top 5.

  1. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson
  2. The Hero’s Guide to Saving your Kingdom by Christopher Healy*
  3. Failstate by John W. Otte*

The second thing a new year means is a list of books I intend to read in the coming year. Since my goal is to read 200 books, I’m not going to list every title – just the ones I’m really excited for.

My Top Five Exciting Reads for 2013:

  1. Every Other Day by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  2. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
  3. I Hunt Killers by Barry Luga
  4. Code (Virals #3) by Kathy Reichs
  5. Confessions of a Murder Suspect by James Patterson

There’s my ten cents’ worth.  What about you?  What were your favorite books that you read last year?  Which books are you excited to read this year?  How many books do you want to read?

1 thought on “Stand-Out Books of 2012”

  1. Jalyn, I realize I’m half a year late, but I just now was made aware of your kindness in including my Gunner’s Run novel among your top 5 favorite reads for 2012. With the many, many worthy options being published, I am humbled and grateful to see your thoughts. Blessings to you!

Comments are closed.