Review Shorts

Review Shorts: December 2023

How to Set a Table: Inspiration, Ideas, and Etiquette for Hosting Friends and Family

See it on The StoryGraph here

Status: Completed

This is a thin little book with no credited author and is obviously a gift book more than anything else. But it is full of gorgeous photos of tablescapes. And even though I doubt I will ever be hosting a meal fancy enough to require multiple clearings of the table, I feel slightly more cultured knowing what a charger is and the proper order for wineglasses. (And considering the wide variety of places my work tends to take me, it’s concievable that someday I might attend a dinner where I need to know the right order to use my forks.) There were definitely some good ideas in here – although largely leaning towards the formal and fancy, there’s no reason most of it can’t be toned down to fit a more casual modern lifestyle. Although perhaps adding a little more fanciness and polish to regular meals can be a good thing, too. And there are some interesting ideas about nontraditional meal settings, like how to set the table for a buffet or pack for a picnic. If nothing else, the photos are gorgeous and it inspired me to update my table linens. I’m going to keep it around and go through it again once I have a house and more space to collect linens and nice dishes.

Tags: Unread Shelf 2023